PDA

View Full Version : Raan

The Insider
04-24-2020, 11:29 AM
This Sunday I intend to try my first attempt at Raan (not naan) in the tandoor, Has anyone done one before or have any tips?

TA!!

Sir C
04-24-2020, 11:52 AM
This Sunday I intend to try my first attempt at Raan (not naan) in the tandoor, Has anyone done one before or have any tips?

TA!!

Sadly I have no experience of the raan or the tandoor, so I have ****a le for you. Except I’d like to know if you can control the temperature of the tandoor to do a slow cook, or is it always screaming hot?

The Insider
04-24-2020, 12:23 PM
Sadly I have no experience of the raan or the tandoor, so I have ****a le for you. Except I’d like to know if you can control the temperature of the tandoor to do a slow cook, or is it always screaming hot?

You can reduce the heat, adding less charcoal to the bottom and cooking a bit later. It is an art that after three years, I still haven't mastered - probably never will, but they are wonderful things.

Sir C
04-24-2020, 12:57 PM
You can reduce the heat, adding less charcoal to the bottom and cooking a bit later. It is an art that after three years, I still haven't mastered - probably never will, but they are wonderful things.

I wish you joy of it, ti. The raan looks like a wonderful dish, good luck.

Ganpati's Goonerz--AFC's Aboriginal Fertility Cult
04-24-2020, 01:08 PM

TA!!

Do you make rotis? I love a tandoor roti, me. And the missus.

The Insider
04-24-2020, 01:20 PM
Do you make rotis? I love a tandoor roti, me. And the missus.

I do my own roti, but they are just dry pan fried and then deep fried if I fancy a poori.

Sir C
04-24-2020, 01:22 PM
I do my own roti, but they are just dry pan fried and then deep fried if I fancy a poori.

Do you have south Asian heritage ti, or are you simply a cracker with a fine understanding of the cuisine of the sub continent?

The Insider
04-24-2020, 01:47 PM