PDA

View Full Version : 30+ years ago, when I was delivering cars for a living, I ate the same lunch each day

Sir C
07-21-2016, 12:40 PM
Double egg, double sausage, chips, two slices of bread and 'butter', tea.

This was possible because there was a transport caff available pretty much everywhere. Even motorway service stations had a separate bit round the back for lorry and trade plate drivers, where transport caff food was served at transport caff prices.

I can't remember the last time I saw a transport caff :-(

Anyway. There is no finer lunch than double egg, double sausage, chips, two slices of bread and 'butter', and tea.

Pat Vegas
07-21-2016, 12:52 PM

This was possible because there was a transport caff available pretty much everywhere. Even motorway service stations had a separate bit round the back for lorry and trade plate drivers, where transport caff food was served at transport caff prices.

Anyway. There is no finer lunch than double egg, double sausage, chips, two slices of bread and 'butter', and tea.

You can't beat it. Unfortunately I do not eat anything pleasurable anymore. But I am getting used to it.
the weight is falling off :cloud9:

Ash
07-21-2016, 12:56 PM
Agreed. A most splendid lunch, or late breakfast, though I often add beans for some juice to dip chips in when the molten egg-gold runs out.

http://www.transportcafe.co.uk/truckstops/a-b-roads

Pat Vegas
07-21-2016, 12:59 PM
Agreed. A most splendid lunch, or late breakfast, though I often add beans for some juice to dip chips in when the molten egg-gold runs out.

I used to like this sort of breakfast too much. I had a phase where I'd have it every single lunchtime. to the point where I didn't order and it would be ready for me. I think I had put on 2 stone after a while.

Burney
07-21-2016, 01:01 PM

Why weren't you fatter?

Sir C
07-21-2016, 01:05 PM
Why weren't you fatter?

I was 18 and playing semi-pro sport :shrug:

Sir C
07-21-2016, 01:09 PM