PDA

View Full Version : Probably a question for Jorge - him beiing techy and one of those Apple brand

Herbette Chapman - aged 15
02-03-2016, 09:23 PM
mugs.

So I'm streaming the match yesterday and the feckin thing's rubbish, buffering, pixelating and continually dropping out. I'm ranting at my teenage daughter like a loony, blaming her Snapchat antics. So she brought her iphone down and we did a test to see if turning her phone off helped. Didn't make any difference so I said sorry, off you go.

Wife can hear me railing and cursing so she comes in and we have this conversation :-

WIFE: Why not try my iPad - always faster on youtube etc?

ME: No use love, it's all the same broadband via teh same router

WIFE: Well just give it a try - I'm sure I've noticed an imporovement since i got my iPad

ME: Look darlin, I work it IT - I've got a feckin degree in Comp Sci - I'm a hardcore C++ programmer - I'm telling you it WONT'HELP!

WIFE: Tel me where this stream of yours is and let me try then : I give her the URL :

2 minutes later she hands me her iPad; excellent picture, no buffering, good clarity, good sound. How the f**k is that? As I said, it s using the same broadband so how does this iPad do it. I have had my nose put out of joint as well as having to possibly re-evaluate my cynicism about Apple products :-(

bostonbrian
02-03-2016, 09:28 PM
She'll have you running around doing all sorts of household chores now...

02-03-2016, 09:37 PM

pjlincs
02-03-2016, 09:39 PM
could be channel speed amongst several other hardware / firmware factors.

02-03-2016, 09:42 PM
had the best shout being on hard cable. Do you suspect the Apple devices managing to prioritize their channels somehow?

Bergkamp's Brain
02-03-2016, 09:48 PM

02-03-2016, 09:50 PM

Bergkamp's Brain
02-03-2016, 09:56 PM
Just remember that your browser may have been using a ****ty Flash plugin while I think ios does not support Flash

Your wife got lucky bty. She didn't beat you by design.

pjlincs